What does Transparency in fashion mean to you?

What does Transparency in fashion mean to you? And for the clarification I am not talking about how see-through clothing. No I am referring to the traceability and transparency of the manufacturing process in fashion. Do we really know where are clothes come from? The dress I am wearing says made in china but what does that mean other than at some point during the process of manufacturing that this dress was handled by a machinist in china. What about the fabric, fastenings and trimmings? In truth this dress is most likely global there is no real place it can be defined as having been made in only finished in. I’m not going to name drop but one particular British brand gets there products manly produced in Turkey then finished in Ireland just so they can obtain a Made in Britain label. I am sure they are not alone in this. With this information brought to light, it really questioned everything I thought I knew and lead me to postponing a project I had in the pipeline as I knew I had to really understand everything I could about transparency. The fact is its going to be hard to make Transparency to happen due to the spread of the manufacturing and supply chain. I understand now that to really understand where are clothes come from you have to look beyond the made in label and search further.

Transparency can lead to a more Sustainable and ethical future in fashion as it allows you the customer to really understand where your garments come from and make informed decisions based on this. The fact is the reality of fast fashion manufacturing is hard to put in to context as its very hard to relate to, so how can you be passionate for a cause you don’t really understand? Transparency would give you the opportunity to understand how your clothes are made.

I would be grateful if you could complete this survey so I can get an idea of what Transparency means to you? Do you care about sustainable fashion?  Click here to take survey

I always value what you think so let me know in the comments. 

Do you even care about transparency?

Would your fashion choices be effected by transparency?

What does Transparency in fashion mean to you?