Monochrome spiked with neon

monochromeneon

Floppy Hat . American Apparel

Pleather Jacket . Charity shop find

Striped pencil Skirt . H&M

Neon envelope clutch . Blott

If there is one colour combination that you can’t go wrong with its black and white. It works perfectly for day and night. I’ve always loved the colour black my wardrobe is basically half filled up with black items; lacy, velvet, leather, you name it its there. One thing that I love about monochrome is its ability to work smart and casual and this monochrome outfit spiked with neon is the perfect example.

I brought this striped skirt about 6 months ago as I was after a figure hugging skirt but want something a bit more casual than a black pencil skirt. Its rare that I find a skirt that fits around the waist and the hips as I find that a lot of skirts are made with a straight body type in mind but thanks to the stretchy material it fits around my curves perfectly.

I had been on the look out for a floppy hat for months before I found one on the American Apparel website and because of the price it took another month, a trip to one of there London stores and a generous boyfriend before I got my hands on this. I couldn’t be happier with it; its perfect for those bad hair days when you want to look glamours and equally works well to add statement to jeans and T-shirt.

What better way to rock up a look than with a leather jacket. Ok this one isn’t leather but until my budget expands I’ll have to make do with this pleather jacket (aka plastic leather). I found this in a charity shop when I was volunteering and knew that this would make the perfect bikers jacket as its two sizes to big (size 12) which means if I wear it open it kind of hangs of me and allows the jacket to drape nicely while leaving room for a big woolly jumper come winter. I always think that if you can thrift something when not? After all this jacket only cost me £5 and I gave if a new lease of life, I am planning on paint the inside soon.

The green neon envelop clutch is the perfect way to add a bit of colour to monochrome and shouts fun. Its impossible for this clutch to sink into the background and its simple design lets the colour do the talking. This was a gift for my 21st and I am so happy with the colour as its a brave choice and something I might have shied away from if I had selected it myself.

Unless your a friend your unlikely to know that I have a slight addiction to shoes, I can usually walk away from a dress but when it comes to shoes I am a sucker for buying them. The guys at Topshop must of grown tired of me trying these on about 4-5 times before I actually settled on buying these flat platforms with a double ankle straps. This will be my second pair of flat platforms my first pair were from ‘head over heels by Dune’ back in 2011 and while they last me a fair amount of time the soles did split in half and after super glue wouldn’t do the job anymore I set about trying to find a replacement pair when I stumbled upon these beauts from Topshops. They are slightly more dressier than the pair I had before but I love them and needless to say they look perfect on a night out and do wonders for my legs.

topshop platform shoes blogger
buckle topshop flat platform fashion blogger

The only thing missing from this outfit in the perfect sleeveless white shirt and a statement necklace. I will be keeping my eyes peeled and Please let me know in the comments in you know where to find the perfect white shirt.

I am writing this in response to IFB’s “Bloggers Black and White Ball”

 
Follow on Bloglovin

Monochrome spiked with neon

6 thoughts on “Monochrome spiked with neon

Leave a Reply

