All in a day in Margate |Part one

Cupcake, vintage and art galleries all in a day out at Margate

zara fashion dress clothes lemon yellow margate

Dress . Zara

Bag . Fossil

I went to Margate about a week and half ago and had a great day out. I have been waiting to share this with you ever since. I have been to Margate a couple of times now and I have to say its one of my favourite seaside town to go to on a day out although I am yet to actually go on the beach. I really like Margate as it’s a balance that holds an art gallery, vintage shops and a 99 ice cream van. Usually when a seaside town has cheese it sticks to it but Margate caters to all. It has that cheesy side but its easily avoid about down the little streets and lanes that hold Margate’s Vintage shops and Boutiques. As the weather was usually warm I decided to make the most of my yellow 1950’s style dress from Zara. What I love about this dress is the low back as any dress which has this feature is always a favourite of mine and how the dress is made of a light but structured fabric which insures I am not spending the day worried about it being blown up. I took to many picture and have so much to say so I will be doing my post on Margate in a couple of instalments.

fossil handbag satchel margate yellow dress zara personal style blog

First I want to introduce you to Margate Art Galleries: Turner Contemporary 

margate turner contemporary  Juan Munoz  conversation piece III 2001 blog Juan Munoz is a Spanish Sculptor who’s unsettling work evokes memories. He describes his work as storytelling and its easy to see why, when observing his work you almost feel like you have seen this before it feels familiar yet there is a very creepy undertone. Conversation piece III (2001) is currently on display at the Turner Contemporary in Margate whose bronze figure seem frozen mid-conversation in the Sunley Gallery. This display space is the perfect back drop to Munoz work giving a sense of isolation and observation. It might sound odd to describe this work as giving a sense of observation but it makes you feel like you are watching something uncomfortable, that you shouldn’t be observing, you want to look away but the same force making you turn away is curious. You should definitely give this a visit its at the Turner Contemporary until the 23rd of February.

While your there don’t forget to check out the main attraction ‘Curiosity and the pleasure of knowing’.

curiosity and the pleasure of knowing margate turner contemporary book I’m a curious person which made this curiosity exhibition the ideal place to trigger my imagination. There was the Pencocks (a penguin and a peacock joined and stuff together to look like a new species.) which made you question what you know to be true. Could it be a real creature? What makes some one create this? What did they do to the other half? If that wasn’t enough to spark your interest there were also drawings by Leonardo De Vinci which look like tear outs from his sketch book. They show his thought process rather than a final piece and in many ways I find this more curious. Was his thought process the same as my understanding of these scribbles? What was his aim? How much of it was based on fact and how much was based on his curiosity? This exhibition is amazing in how it makes you question everything. What is the difference between an art gallery exhibition and a museum exhibition? Where do the lines blur? In my opinion this exhibition sits between the two and allows them to over lap.

The only bad thing I have to say about this exhibition was that the two occasions I visited (a month apart) the Tacita Dean installation was unavailable due to technical difficulties.   I wouldn’t have minded to much if it wasn’t for the fact that Dean was one of the advertised artist showing, therefore I was rather disappointed.

yellow backpack  mens accessories fashion bag . William Fox & Sons

T-shirt . GAP

Jeans . Levi

We had a great day out in Margate. If your looking for a seaside town on the Kent coast that has more than ‘kiss me quick’ hats and penny machines then I definitely recommend Margate. I snapped this photo (above) of my boyfriend looking out to sea and I had to share it with you as I thought you might want to see this awesome yellow backpack he has. Its from William Fox & sons and its easy to see the charm of this bag. The bright colour lures you in and the fine subtle detailing keeps you hooked. Its a playful twist on utility.

I might be finishing this post with Cupcakes but this is actually how we started the day. I arrived in Margate an hour early so after a little charity and vintage shopping I headed to the Cupcake Cafe to meet up with him. Usually early I decide to order him a cupcake ready for his arrival. If you haven’t been to the Cupcake Cafe in Margate you should. They have an amazing selection of cupcakes that justify there name. The two cupcakes I choose were Raspberry and Chocolate (for me) and Caramel Swirl (for him). I love how sweet this cafe is, they serve you your cupcakes on the cutest saucers which just adds to the charm of such a concept as a Cupcake Cafe. The only thing I was slightly disappointed by was the fact that my chocolate milk shake that I ordered had a slight taste of banana in it and this would have been fine if I liked banana or if I had ordered it. But I have been there several times and this is the only time I have had a twinge of disappointed so it just goes to show that nothing is perfect 100% of the time.

cupcake cafe margate

All in all I had a great day out in Margate please feel free to follow. My next post in the Margate instalment will be about the Vintage shopping and Boutiques in Margate. I would love to know what you thing about Margate, I am always excited  to hear what you have to say.

 

Follow on Bloglovin

All in a day in Margate |Part one

5 thoughts on “All in a day in Margate |Part one

Leave a Reply

