Build a Travel Make-up Bag Easily + Product Reveiws

I am currently between homes which basically means I am travelling back and forth quite a lot. With all this travelling you could say I have learnt a few tricks about how to build a neat Travel bag. If your like me you’ll end up using the same pool of make-up despite having a draw  full of it. The key building a travel make-up bag is basics i.e. mascara, eyeliner, foundation, blusher and lipstick. Then its up to you to use these basics to achieve different looks.

Travel Sized Make-up bag – Ordning&Reda

The first point of call for me in creating a Travel Make-up bag is switching to a more travel size bag. I found this red leather make-up bag in the John Lewis (its sold out now) and knew it would be perfect. Its by a Swedish company called Ordning&Reda there core values are design, quality, simplicity and inspiration. And that’s what I love about Orgning&Reda is the simplicity making this bag a staple that can be personalised or fit into your everyday style easily. I knew as soon as I unwrapped the packaging that my ‘Lego Wonder Woman’ keyring which I still had found a use for yet would look perfect secures on to the zip. This bag is small (about the width and height of my passport) but that makes it perfect for slipping into your handbag.

make up, make up bag, travel, wonder woman lego, red make up bag, ording & reda

Mascara – Benefits they’re Real

I got this as a tester in Elle magazine quite a while ago and never got round to using it until I realised that it would be perfect as a travel size Mascara. The packaging claims that 94%  of people who used Benefit they’re Real in a consumer panel survey saw dramatic length and volume, I can’t speak for them but I have to admit this mascara definitely deserves its name  as it gives dramatic length. Its has two faults in my opinion the first is how clumpy this mascara is if you want anything slightly natural only the bare minimum is needed. And secondly after a long day it can sometimes get flaky resulting in black speckles around your eye. But I do love the results it gives which is why it deserves a place in my travel make-up bag but I won’t be throwing the old one out which I have tried and tested. This is perfect for a night out as it gives you instead glamour.

mascara, make-up, benefit, make up reveiw, they're real, lego, savagem, savage gemma

Eyeliner – Rimmel London Scandaleyes thick & thin eyeliner in black

I recently brought this as I was tiring of my old gel eye liner which was difficult to apply, when I running late in the mornings I want something that is quick and easy to apply. What I love about this eyeliner is its felt tip applicator which allows you to create an even line whether you are after a thick or thin line. Just like the label say. Given the varity in strokes that are easily achievable means that this is a new favourite and is perfect for a travel make-up bag as you can use this for both day and night. The image below shows me testing the lines you can create.

DSCF7701

The eyeliner claims to be waterproof and I’m not sure how I would test this fact without going underwater but it does last the whole day which makes it perfect for summer where my nature your skin will get hotter a lot more easier. As this is a new buy it will take some getting use to, to work out what I can do with this eyeliner but I am confident that I can achieve different eyeliner looks easily.

Please read my update for this product here

eye liner, felt tip eye liner, rimmel, make up, lego, scandaleyes

Foundation – Rimmel London Match Perfection in Light Porcelain

I have always been a fan of Rimmel foundations as I love the scent they have and the coverage they give. There are only a  few make-up brands go as white as I need and from the high street this is my must have pick.  As you can see from the image below it blends perfectly with my skin tone while taking away that pinkish tone that I dislike.foundation beauty reveiw rimmel match perfection

One thing I love about this foundation is the texture as its feels like moisturiser and sits on the skin beautifully. The make-up claims to have an SPF of 18 but I can’t really say whether this is true of not as I usually put suncream on first anyway. Foundation makes for a travel make-up bag essential as it is a very versatile product as it can be used as concealer, light coverage or all over coverage. For everyday use I prefer to use it lightly either as a concealer or as light coverage which is why getting a skin match is so important to me.

foundation, make-up, rimmel, lego, match perfection, review, real people

Blusher – REVLON matte powder blush in Perfectly Peach

Blusher is a must for me as I can look a little washed out sometimes but at the same time I am a bit of a novice when it comes to applying blusher which makes this matte powder blush by REVLON in Perfectly Peach a perfect match for me, as it doesn’t go on to heavy (no one likes to look like a Russian doll). When it comes to blusher I prefer a gentle flush to give me a glow without pinching my cheeks. This compact comes with a brush (which as you can see I have lost) that works well to apply the brusher however if possible I do recommend using a blusher brush.

revlon matte powder blush, make up, reveiw

Lipstick – Mac in Ruby Woo

Last but not least my Travel make-up bag essential is red lipstick as it can transform a look from day to night in an instant. What I love about this Mac lipstick is its staying power, I remember going to Macy’s in New York and trying out this lipstick, it was love at first sight but I told my self if it was true the lipstick would last. And it did this lipstick survived a day in the city and all the food that comes with it. I brought it that night. Its fair to say you don’t need a lot of it and I use this lipstick two different ways; firstly I apply it for full coverage to achieve the classic red lip look and secondly I dab it on and rub it in with my finger to give a just bitten or rose look.

lipstick rubywoo ruby woo mac make-up red lego

What would you put in your Travel Make-up bag? Let me know in the comment

Build a Travel Make-up Bag Easily + Product Reveiws

6 thoughts on “Build a Travel Make-up Bag Easily + Product Reveiws

Leave a Reply

