DIY: Dip-Dye Shirt, a tutorial so simple even your boyfriend will get it

This blog post could have equally been called “A DIY for dummies” its that simple, I did this in my garage with minimal tools but gained maximum wow effect. And it all started because my boyfriend had this really old white shirt which had some stains on it and I knew that not only could I make it wearable again I could bring it bang up to date. The Dip-Dye trend has been here a while now but I can’t help but fall in love with it, gone are the hippie days. I choose to dip-dye a shirt instead of a T-Shirt or a vest for two reasons; Firstly I had the shirt to hand (what’s the point of buying something new when you can bring old life to something new) and Secondly I feel that it has a smart grungy feel that would lose something with out the little details of the collar and buttons. After all detail is everything.

savagem you will need diy shirt dyeDIY: Four Easy Steps to achieve a dip-dyed shirt:

step 1

Prepare the shirt: Do this by soaking it in water but only up to the point you want the dye to spread.

Prepare the dye in the tray: Put the rubber gloves on and Follow the instructions on the pack of the dye, using the salt as directed. You will need the fork for this.

step 2

Now take your shirt and place it in the tray as the image shows below. For my DIY shirt I decided I wanted the top of the shirt to remain white to show of that button down collar. Leave the shirt un-ironed and creased to  create an interesting almost cameo effect on the shirt. Now leave to soak for at least 6 hours.

DSCF8818

step 3

Now take out of the tray and rinse (carefully to insure you don’t discolour the part of the shirt you were trying to keep white.)

Hang it up to dry on the line.

step 4

Iron and its ready to Wear!

diy shirt
Photographer: Becky Nicklin. Model: Callum Davies. Stylist: Gemma Marshall-Savage and James Sutton

What I love about this DIY is its versatility, it can work just as well for guys as it can for girls. The above image is from a photoshoot I styled using this DIY shirt. I don’t normally do mens styling but I love trying new things. If you look closely you will notice that the thread hasn’t taken the dye and this gives an urban feel. I will try and get it photographed on a female to show you how it can work for both.

Will you be giving this DIY a go? Let me know in the comments.

DIY: Dip-Dye Shirt, a tutorial so simple even your boyfriend will get it

One thought on “DIY: Dip-Dye Shirt, a tutorial so simple even your boyfriend will get it

Leave a Reply

